The Future of this Little Blog

by Marlena

I used to keep a paper journal but never had much success in keeping it updated.

I wrote in one of those pretentious little moleskines, the kind with the unnecessary “e”. None the less, I loved that notebook. I remember being impressed by the tastefully ivory-colored paper slip that was originally stowed in the back pocket of my moleskine. You know, the one that claims that the Moleskine is “the legendary notebook used by artists and thinkers over the past two centuries: among them Vincent van Gogh, Pablo Picasso, Ernest Hemingway, and Bruce Chatwin.”?   Unfortunately, as I have gained a few years of wisdom, my ability to romanticize what can only be described as an excellent marketing campaign has steadily diminished. First of all, Moleskine, you didn’t exist until 1997, so I’m pretty sure Ernest Freaking Hemingway probably wrote in a regular fucking notebook.

Anyway, after that side tangent:

Obviously, I had similar problems keeping this blog updated; however, I think I will continue to try to keep this thing updated with bits of my life/thoughts. I also plan on continuing to post some of my writing on here. I think it will be easier now. I have many more thoughts that I want to get out, and I also want to record some of the mundane events of my life. Or interesting ones that may pop up. Actually, I seem to think to myself several times a day, “Oh, I will add this to my blog.” Most of the time that doesn’t really happen…maybe this summer? In addition, I prefer the electronic nature of a blog. I like the idea that there is one collective place I can put my thoughts without losing them. I can imagine myself, a frail 70 year old woman with a stooped back, crouching over a holographic computer reading posts from when I was 17. Also, I detest my own handwriting.