Future

by Marlena

I’ve been working on finding a summer job recently. I need the money for college and my parents want me to be doing something productive this summer – like marathoning Parks and Rec and eating way too many grilled cheese sandwiches isn’t productive pshhh. So far I’ve applied to two: A bakery near my house (hahah I’d be like Harry Styles anywayyyyy moving on) and a job at the library. The bakery place emailed me and told me that they had found someone. They were very polite about it, though. Then yesterday I applied for a job at the library, which sounds a little boring but whatever.

It’s getting progressively harder to care about anything related to school recently. On the upside, we only have two more months and then exams. I keep thinking about what I’ll miss most from high school when I’m in college next year. I think that I’ll miss the people the most – both teachers and my friends. I go to a big high school but I only take classes with about a 150 students, so I know pretty much everyone. It’s gonna be weird not seeing everyone every day. Of course, a lot of us are going to the same university, so I’ll still see a bunch of people I know around campus. And I know all my friends will be off doing amazing things where ever they go. On the other hand, I have some great teachers. In fact, it’s mostly the teachers that have me coming back to school each day. I’ll miss my social studies teachers the most. There are two of them – one teaches european history and the other teaches anthropology. Anyone who goes to school with me reading this knows who I’m talking about. Their knowledge passion for their subjects is incredibly inspiring and I have been very lucky to have met them.

Mostly because of the drag of school/life, my friend and I have decided to do things that make us the most happy this summer before college. A bucket list of sorts. I thought I’d post some of my list here.

This Summer:

  • have a picnic on a rooftop or near that lake by my house or anywhere really. multiple picnics.
  • get a job
  • fill a pool with jello and swim in it
  • make and try a macaroon
  • learn how to longboard
  • meditate
  • be able to run 5 miles at once
  • get my drivers license
  • tie dye stuff
  • cook indian food with my friend
  • tattoo!
  • go paintballing
  • play chess on one of those big outdoor sets
  • go to hirshhorn museum and actually see everything this time
  • go that thing where people light lanterns and let them float into the sky is this called a lantern festival?
  • steal a grocery cart
  • swim under a waterfall